Grrrl Gang


Regular price £21.99

First European pressing from Trapped Animal Records, Orange variant strictly limited to 150 copies only + black variant. Orange comes with 10" lyric insert. Optional insert for Black.

Reviews of Spunky!

‘Spunky!’ is an emotionally sophisticated album that suggests that Indonesia has its hands on some new stars. NME  

'Effortlessly envelops the listener with its immense breadth.. ' LOUD & QUIET 7/10

'Grrrl Gang represents the Indonesia of the future that they wish for... SPIN

So many good bands have been associated with Kill Rock Stars in particular, and Grrrl Gang are no exception' JOYZINE

The band’s core songcraft feels as succinct and punchy as ever. BANDCAMP

BBC 6MUSIC support: Steve Lamacq Deb Grant & Amy Lamè

Indonesian trio Grrrl Gang builds on their considerable worldwide buzz with Spunky!, their full-length debut album. Released on 22 September 2023 by Green Island Music in partnership with exclusive licensees Kill Rock Stars (United States), Trapped Animal Records (United Kingdom) and Big Romantic Records (Japan and Taiwan), the album is preceded by its title track and first single drops on May 30, featured from the same title of the album, 'Spunky!'


Spunky! arrives following some major life changes for Angeeta Sentana (vocals, guitar), Akbar Rumandung (bass, vocals), and Edo Alventa (guitar, vocals), including a switch in locale from Yogyakarta, the city where they formed the band while still in college. “This is Grrrl Gang’s first release after we graduated and got day jobs that made us have to move to Jakarta, which is undeniably 180 degrees compared to Jogja,” says Rumandung. “But moving to Jakarta enabled us to work with Lafa on Spunky! from start to finish.”

The song itself essentially describes Sentana's experience during a manic episode. “I feel like I’m on top of the world, untouchable. I do things without thinking, always chasing after that feeling of instant gratification. I feel extra confident in myself—to a point of grandiose thinking—and that I could do anything,” Sentana explains.

That would be Lafa Pratomo, the in-demand producer brought in to help shape the ten tracks that make up Spunky! With a resume that includes the likes of the chanteuse Danilla and legendary singer-songwriter Iwan Fals, Pratomo might not seem the obvious choice to take the Grrrl Gang producer’s chair. But according to Rumandung, “In terms of production, this was something new for us by working with someone outside of Grrrl Gang’s comfort zone.” Indeed, Pratomo considerably beefs up Grrrl Gang’s sound – particularly Alventa’s guitar tones, Rumandung’s rumbling bass, and touring drummer Muhammad Faiz Abdurrahman’s muscular beats – while preserving the band’s signature raucous energy, catchy melodies, and Sentana’s attitude-filled, equal-parts-honey-and-vinegar vocals.


Spunky! tracklist
1. Birthday Blues
2. A Fight Breaks Out At A Karaoke Bar
3. Rude Awakening
4. Spunky!
5. Cool Girl
6. Better Than Life
7. Tower Moment
8. Mother's Prayer
9. Blue Stained Lips
10. The Star